Valuables

“Where are you headed next?” I ask the guest standing in front of me, as his receipt is printing out.

“Well I have to go to an office in New York, but I’ve got to take a quick flight home to Texas, to pick up some equipment, first.”

“Oh wow! You couldn’t mail the equipment?”

He thinks about getting off of his plane in Dallas and seeing his wife standing there with a smile on her face. He thinks about how it feel like an explosion in his head when she kisses him and silky golden sand in his hand when she’s holding it. He thinks about cooking dinner with her, listening to music, hearing her beautiful voice as she sings along, and her laugh when he tries to sing too. He thinks about how she looks as she takes the first bite of good food. He thinks about the selfless way she tries to make him laugh and smile in the car, when all she really wants to do is beg him to just stay home, just a bit longer.

“What’s in Texas is really valuable,” the guest tells me.

Leave a comment